The 2016 Design Challenge

On my current masters I have been working with more indepthly focused upon materials in association to intimate apparel, im hoping to improve not only my application of design and making, through my materiality modules, but also my practice and execution, through my Business of design modules, and also to increase my understanding of user engagement and social cultural aspects of purchasing through terchnonatures.

So this year I have decided to investigate, possible new, more sustainable and environmentally friendly fabrics, with the hope of developing a 100% sustainable, ethical, biodegradable and environmentally friendly range of intimates and loungewear in the near future.

In light of environmental impact in relation to western consumerist culture I have challenged myself to use the fabric that, as a sewer, I have acquired and thought too beautiful to use, and to combine it with end of roll or cut offs from haberdasheries and other companies. I want to retrain my brain to use the fabric I buy and not be so precious and to think about what i purchase and the production and travel involved within it. I already see that there will be various challenges involved but I think that they will all be able to be overcome by supplementation and innovation.

So in short the challenge is to not buy any fabric off the roll and to only buy a maximum of 2 offcut fabrics a month. *

 I am rather excited to see how this challenge will shape WUNDERBLAZE this year and to rediscover all the fabulous fabrics and materials I have acquired and not used.

*This challenge does not relate to my academic research

 

Categories: Lingerie, Personal | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

